A Time to Heal

A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up… – Turn! Turn! Turn!, The Byrds.  Try not to sing that muthafucking song all day.  Mwua ha ha ha.

Can’t sleep, so I’ll blog. Tonight, I gave out a bit of advice to a friend on the phone.  I advised said friend to be alone for a while because everyone needs to mourn the loss of a previous relationship.  I didn’t take my own advice before I signed up for online dating recently.  I signed up for Match the very next day after The Body and I had our bye-bye discussion.  Unfortunately, I believe I’m having issues being open to anything after not allowing myself time to heal.

This week in my Match world:

So far I’ve mentioned Computer Guy who was borderline…well, borderline something.  I’m not a doctor.  Luckily, Computer Guy didn’t send any more texts after Sunday.

I went on a date with a Lawyer from Durango that misrepresented himself in pictures.  I found myself bored with his conversation.  When the hot manager at Atomic Cowboy came up to raise the descended blind next to our booth, I smiled and started a conversation with him.  I know this manager knows me and hopefully secretly finds me appealing too.  I’m in there all the time and he has mentioned in the past that pizza with bacon and banana peppers is his favorite too (it’s what I always order).  I know that was kinda disrespectful of me to flirt with someone in front of the man I was on a date with…but my god the HOTNESS.

I have an upcoming date on Wednesday to play darts with Ice Cream Mogul.  This man was an advertising executive in NY for a very LARGE producer of cable tv.  He quit after surviving several years of 80 hour work weeks to open an ice cream chain in Colorado.  He seems uber attractive from his pictures (please oh please oh please).  He made me laugh a lot when we talked.  He was surprised I even called him back after he left his first voicemail.  The message consisted of him talking to my voicemail then yelling at his GPS to “shut up, I’m trying to talk to Laurie.”  He said goodbye and sighed right before he hung up.  I found that particularly charming ’cause I’m terrible at being brief when leaving a voice message.  Ok, this guy sparks some interest…even though I’m lactarded.

I have a future date set up with Chef next week.  Chef grew up in Pennsylvania like me.  He had been calling all last weekend to chat, but due to lack of sleep I slept through his call and couldn’t quite fit in another phone call.  He didn’t seemed fazed.  I told him to call me to chat Monday night at 8:30 pm.  I totally forgot he was supposed to call and was on my way to Massively Tall Guy’s house for a visit.  Luckily Massively Tall Guy lives in Bumblefuck (Lakewood) and I had some time to talk.  Seems like a real cool guy on the phone and he mentioned that he had “houses” so…there’s that.  I remember getting off the phone and feeling drained.  Feeling drained from my recent breakup that left me the inability to be excited for anyone.  Plus, I am juggling again…rushing off the phone to meet the next guy…stressful.

I’ve also mentioned Massively Tall Guy in a previous blog.  I’ll tell you a bit more about him.  Massively Tall Guy and I met for drinks at Hanson’s pub near Wash Park.  After an hour, he suggested we go to either the Grizzly Rose or the Electric Cowboy.  We elected to go to the Electric Cowboy, which is the BEST place for watching white trash people try to mate.  I believe I was observing a Nova mating rituals video right before my eyes.  It was glorious.  So after a bit, Massively Tall Guy got me out on the dance floor.  I actually went out there with him willingly (possibly because he told me that a previous relationship was a woman who danced competitively).  He fared better than the guy in my previous blog Nurse Guy.  At one point we danced to a slow song and he kissed me on the dance floor.  Now, this would have been something that would have sent chills down my spine from the pure chick flick moment…but I wasn’t that excited.  I have seen him 3x in the last 4 days. Since the second date there are glimmers of excitement now and again.

Good things about Massively Tall Guy: He is 6’10” and has modeled for a Nike campaign in the past.  People turn their heads when we walk into a bar together, and they are not looking at me in my bright yellow coat.  He has a similar look to Alec Baldwin (when he was in Beetlejuice…young and hot Alec).  He has eyes that are a piercing blue green, and I rarely miss an opportunity to look at them.   Massively Tall Guy ended his last relationship 11 months ago and is very much ready to be in a serious relationship.  He even invited me to Cheyenne, WY to visit his friends at the end of March (overnight visit…so we’ll have to figure out the logistics for that soon).  I’m not going to say he’s perfect for me, but he’s pretty darn good.  He’s ready for a serious relationship…and I’m hoping to be ready at some point again ’cause I feel a bit damaged.

Leave a comment