Nurse Guy

I met Nurse Guy on Plenty of Fish three years ago. We talked on the phone for over two hours. We met at a restaurant 20 minutes from where I lived. After dinner, I was happy to keep talking at the restaurant and see if a spark would develop; however, Nurse Guy planned a g’damned marathon date: dinner than dancing. Dinner isn’t always the best idea for a first meeting…you can’t escape easily if you’re date goes wrong. Planning to meet for coffee or drinks is a better option. So, dinner can be bad on a first meeting, but dancing is a complete whole other nightmare, yet I went. **Here’s where you say, “If it is your nightmare, why would you go?” Good question. Moving to Colorado I decided to do activities out of my comfort zone (that’s how I got into roller derby). I told myself that if someone wanted to do something that was different than what I would usually do, then I should say yes. I don’t say “yes” to do new things with first dates anymore.

After I alluded to Nurse Guy that I’m not a dancer and gave several other reason as to why he wouldn’t want to go dancing with me, he still wanted to go and had a “please” look on his face. I think he had this whole perfect first date scenario in his head…and boy was I about to ruin it for him in the next hour. I acquiesced to go dancing, then stupidly said yes that I would car pool with him. [Side note: I know, that was a stupid move. At the time I just moved to Denver and didn’t know the area, so I figured carpooling would work. Also, I had a bad habit and sometimes still have a bad habit of realizing too late that I am making a mistake…way too late for my own good. Nothing horrible happened, but I realized then, and realize now, how stupid I was when I got into the car.]

He drove me almost 10 minutes to somewhere else where I didn’t know…and had no way to get away. His “around the corner” was much further than what around the corner actually means. When at the bar I felt unbelievably uncomfortable. I started to panic about not knowing where I was and having no one to call to pick me up. We found a table after 30 minutes of just standing in the corner watching people and sat in front of the band. I looked around and a bunch of people were dancing in the front. He tried to make conversation over the band, but we ended up shouting at each other. This is one of my pet peeves…shouting at people in conversation at a bar…I’m getting annoyed just thinking about that…sensory overload. I just gave up talking to him and I think he thought it was an opportunity. He leaned in and kissed me. He was so impressed with himself that he leaned in and tried to kiss me again. I said “no” and leaned back. I’m not interested in P.D.A. in a bar at tables where you are sitting right next to a stranger.

I was freaking out ’cause I had no get-a-way car…it was way too loud in the bar and we’re yelling at each other in order to communicate…I kept saying no to dancing and was not having a good time…this guy was trying to be gross and make-out while he and I sat within touching distance to strangers. However, when I said “no” he gave me a look that showed that I had hurt him…pussy. I looked away at the band and contemplated my next move, then turned back to him and said very gruffly, “Take me back to my car. I want to go home now.” As we were driving, I noticed that I couldn’t find my keys…oh God, was I going to have to get this guy to drive me all the way home? For ten minutes my heart was in my throat in panic and I would every once in a while glance over to him and see he was still pouting…strap on some balls.

When we arrived at the original meeting location, I saw several servers leaving the restaurant. I luckily got one of them to look for my keys back inside the restaurant, and they found them. So, I never talked to that guy again, but I still get emails from him asking to get together again. I’m not sure why he still reaches out to me. I would think that from his perspective I was a horrible date. My theory is that he believed we clicked so much on the phone, that we should be together for-ev-er 🙂 Haha…threw in a ‘Sandlot’ reference there. I can’t think of another reason why he would want to date me again…’cause I can’t think of a reason to go out with him again…

1 thought on “Nurse Guy

  1. Pingback: A Time to Heal | Man Eating Spider

Leave a comment