Flattery Will Get You Nowhere

Well, “Flattery will get you no where” is a lie.  Flattery will get you somewhere with me sometimes.  There’s just a time and a place for it.  Like maybe when you’ve done more than text me for 3 days.

Flattery

He probably believes he is being a nice guy.  I’m not going to knock him for trying, but I’m getting a little afraid that this is a sign that this guy has potential of being a stage 5 clinger.  I would think it’s romantic for a guy to text me like this after a couple months of dating.  Still a little over the top…I’m not Mother Theresa here.  I’m sure he really is a nice guy and is possibly excited about me.  There is a very subtle cadence to timing in a relationship…this is out of step with the cadence I’m comfortable with.  I’ve done too much too soon and scared people off at times, so I have sympathy for this guy.

I really do want compliments to mean something.  Hopefully somewhere someone will learn from this blog and know that too much too soon can ruin what you are striving for…closeness.  If you’re that “nice guy” and “nice gal” that flatters too soon and wonders why people don’t want the “nice guy” and “nice gal,” know this…empty flattery will only attract empty people.

1 thought on “Flattery Will Get You Nowhere

  1. Of all your entries… This one weirds me out the most. He is talking like is serving a 7 year sentence for harassment, invasion of privacy, ( & probably public lewdness aka. Pee wee Herman style) in the county jail… Or he just got out. I’m no prophet, but I say you get a new number or block this guy pronto! I’m literally scared for you…
    Further more, unless you ran over my cat, you (or my cat) are on fire, or you are at my door for a quickie… No one better be texting me at 5 f’n 12 in the morning!
    Drop this guy stat!

Leave a comment